Madden Takes Ultimate Super Late Model Feature

After weeks of excitement & repeated calls from drivers, the time was upon us for the Tar River Throw Down featuring the 50 Lap $5,000 to win Ultimate Super Late Model race. With star drivers such as Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie, Dale McDowell, Jeff Smith & Austin Hubbard just to name a few, could the local drivers such as Christian Joyner, Michael Batten, Travis Hair & Roger Lucas give them a surprise? Along with the Ultimate Super Late Models, the Middlesex Family Dental, PlayTyme Concessions Pure Stock 4, PL Woodard Pure Stock V8 & the ARCO Restoration Thunder & Lightning divisions would also run.

Up first, the Middlesex Family Dental Super Stock 4 with Austin Larrison and Bill Winstead on the front row. From the drop of the green, these guys were going 3 wide all over the track! Bill Winstead took the lead quick followed by John Proctor, Austin Holcombe Jamie Bailey & Austin Larrison. The caution would come out for Eric Hill who spun over in turn 2, and after a brief yellow, we were back green. Bill Winstead continued to lead Proctor, Holcombe, James Manning who moved up a couple spots to get in the top 5 and Jamie Bailey. The front 3 were nose to tail and catching lap traffic when James Manning quickly pitted on the front stretch due to an engine fire under his 94 ride. Very tough break for Manning as he was running in the top 5. Back green with Winstead still leading Proctor, Holcombe, Jamie Bailey & William Carroll. Bill Winstead would continue to lead, taking home his 2nd checkers of the year. Winstead was followed by John Proctor, Austin Holcombe, Jamie Bailey & William Carroll.

Our second feature event, the PlayTyme Concessions Pure Stock 4s with JP Brantley and Thomas Holbrooke on the front row. After a mix up on the backstretch involving several cars, we had to do a complete restart of this 15 lap feature. JP Brantley would hold off a hard charging Michael Webb as long as he could, but lap 6 would see Webb get around Brantley to take the lead. Brantley was followed by Thomas Holbrooke, Daniel Hill & Jeffery Patterson. Patterson would get around Hill to take over 4th spot and mount a challenge on Holbrooke for 3rd. Cody Keith moved up into the top 5 only to lose the position to Tyler Hobgood. With 3 to go, Webb continued to lead Brantley who was holding off Patterson only to lose the spot on the backstretch. With Patterson up in 2nd spot, Webb mashed the gas a little harder to keep some distance between them as they came to the white flag. One last loop around the 3/8 mile oval & Michael Webb would bring home the win. He was followed closely by Jeffery Patterson, JP Brantley, Thomas Holbrooke & Cody Keith.

Next out, the rescheduled PL Woodard Pure Stock V8 $350 to win, 15 lap special. On the front row, Jerry Williams & Kevin Beard, who would be followed by 14 other drivers looking to bring home that $350. Jerry Williams took charge of this field followed by Kevin Beard, Jason Schlaffer, Gary Whitely & Wade Ferrell. Ferrell would challenge Whitley relentlessly as Carly Fulghum was on his bumper itching to get into the top 5. Out front, Jerry Williams stretched his lead out by about 5 car lengths over Beard as we came to the white flag. Coming to the checkers, it would be all Jerry Williams picking up his 4th win of the season. Coming home in 2nd spot, Kevin Beard followed by Jason Schlaffer, Gary Whitley & Wade Ferrell.

The always exciting ARCO Restoration Thunder & Lightning division would see Cy Nelms, Jr on the pole with Brad Hamm on the outside. Cy Nelms Jr jumped out to the lead followed by Skeeter Liles, Mark Boykin, Luke Owens & Brad Hamm. Nelms Jr would spin out in turn 4 while out front on lap 4, with the rest of the field narrowly missing him. Back green with Liles leading Boykin, Owens, Hamm & Lane Proctor. Several cautions would plague this 20 lap feature, slowing the field but luckily we were able to get some green flag laps in. Skeeter Liles held onto the top spot followed by Mark Boykin, Luke Owens, Brad Hamm & Lane Proctor.  Owens would get around Boykin only to have Boykin come back around on to reclaim 2nd spot. Skeeter Liles would bring home the win followed by Mark Boykin, Luke Owens, Brad Hamm & Lane Proctor.

Finally, what we’ve all been waiting for, the 50 lap main event, the Ultimate Super Late Models! Chris Madden laid down a fast time of 14.533 followed by Tim Mcreadie with a time of 14.671. After a 4 wide salute to the fans & a brief fireworks display the green flag dropped on this 21 car field. Madden quickly jumped out front of T-Mac and started putting distance between the 2. Through the field, Dale McDowell got around T-Mac for 2nd spot as Greg Satterlee held on to 4th spot. Chris “Fergy” Ferguson rounded out the top 5. Casey Roberts held onto the 6th spot, Dustin Mitchell in 7th, Christian Joyner 8th, Roger Lucas 9th and Austin Hubbard rounded out the top 10. Up front, Chris “Smokey” Madden caught the tail of the field, lapping a couple of cars while Tim McCreadie challenged McDowell for 2nd spot. Lap 27 would see Madden continuing to stretch his lead out over McDowell. Rambo would move up into the top 10, while Chris Ferguson took over the 4th spot from Satterlee. Ferguson was definitely on the move, as Madden continued to pull away from the field. Austin Hubbard got around Mitchell to take over 7th spot while Mike Gault attempted to move up into the top 10. Coming to 10 to go, Madden was totally checked out, and on lap 41 the rains came. Madden was declared the winner with Dale McDowell, Tim McCreadie, Chris Ferguson, Gregg Satterlee, Casey Roberts, Austin Hubbard, Dustin Mitchell, Roger Lucas & Dennis “Rambo” Franklin. An awesome display of racing by these guys! Thank you so much Stan Lester, Kelley Carlton, Tommy Tedder & all of the staff with the Ultimate Super Late Model Series. We at County Line Raceway love having you & can’t wait until November!

As a reminder, County Line Raceway is closed this week but will return to action on Saturday June 1st! We will be having our first Double Points Night presented by CJ Auto Used Parts! On tap for the night, the Barnes Equipment Late Models, ARCO Restoration Thunder & Lightning, Middlesex Family Dental Super Stock Four Cylinder, PL Woodard Pure Stock V-8 & the PlayTyme Concessions Pure Stock Four Cylinders!

If you have any questions, please call the track at 252-985-1949, check out our website at,, our Facebook or Twitter.

As always, thank you for your support of County Line Raceway as we celebrate our 25th year! We’ll see you at The Line!

Be Sociable, Share!